The California Department of Vehicles (DMV) Form SR-1 is a form that exchanges information amongst parties involved in a California auto accident such as insurance and contact information. This helps facilitate the communication of important information between the parties.
When To File SR-1 with California DMV
It is a requirement under California law to file one with the DMV in Sacramento, California within 10 days of an auto accident IF:
- your property damage is at least $750.00; and
- any party sustained bodily injury. If you fail to comply, your drivers' license may be suspended by the DMV
How To File An SR-1
You can now download the form for free online at the California DMV.
At our law offices, we always file one on behalf of our clients if one has not been previously filed.