Liability is also imposed by statute (California law) on parents for the intentional misconduct of children in other situations. These other situations include:
• Per California Civil Code section 1714.3, injury caused by a discharge of a weapon by a minor under 18 years if the parent either permitted the minor to have a firearm or left the firearm in a place accessible to the minor, although such liability is limited to $30,000 for injury to or death of one person per one injured person or $60,000 for injury to or death of all persons involved in a single event.
• Per California Education Code section 48904(a), an intentional act resulting in injury or death to any student or any person employed by performing volunteer services for a school district or private school;
• Per California Vehicle Code sections 17150, and 17707, an intentional or negligent act by a minor in driving a parent’s vehicle with parent’s express or implied permission.
The bottom line is all parents assume legal responsibility for their children. California law enforces this responsibility through the California court system.
Mark C. Blane is a San Diego Child Injury/Accident Attorney and the managing lawyer of the Law Offices of Mark C. Blane, a San Diego, California Personal Injury Law Office dedicated to representing families of minor children injured due to the negligence of others. If you or a loved one, who is a minor child, has been injured or killed in a child accident in San Diego, please order your free copy of Mr. Blane's book, The 10 Secrets You Need To Know About Your Injury Case, BEFORE You Call A Lawyer. It is full of helpful information that will help you protect your legal rights and it normally sells for $16.95. However, it is free to all California residents, or those injured in a California accident.